Over 100 Victorian Aboriginal Leaders Now Honoured

Nine inspiring Aboriginal leaders have been inducted into the Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll at a ceremony in Melbourne.

The Honour Roll celebrates the achievements of Victorian Aboriginal people, past and present. This year marks the eighth year of the Honour Roll, with more than 100 Aboriginal Victorians now inducted.

Each inductee has dedicated their life to helping others and giving back to their community, while fighting for self-determination and equality.

This year well-loved community Elders, advocates for change, health workers, political activists and Aboriginal inclusion crusaders were recognised. They include:

  • Ben ‘Lanky’ Manton (1841-1929)
  • Norman McDonald (1925- 2002)
  • Johnny Lovett
  • Graham ‘Bootsie’ Thorpe
  • Jacqui Stewart
  • Geraldine Atkinson
  • Barb Gibson-Thorpe
  • Terry Garwood
  • Cherie Marie Waight (1962-2014)

Their personal stories will be added to the Honour Roll, which is on permanent display in the Victorian Parliament.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, Natalie Hutchins

“The Honour Roll acknowledges and celebrates the contribution of Aboriginal people whose tireless work and commitment to communityhas made Victoria a better place.”
“Congratulations to all of the Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll inductees. Their legacies as leaders should be celebrated and shared among all Victorians.”


Article originally posted in premier.vic.gov.au


Metis builds capacity for professionals to:

Our clients include: 
AECOM, Jacobs, WSP, GHD, Laing O’Rourke, Fulton Hogan, Vision Australia, NSW Health Infrastructure, The City of Parramatta, The Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development, SMEC, Norman Disney and Young. Learn more. 
Our programs are:

Related Posts